Voting for Bhanupratappur Assembly constituency by-election on Dec 5; counting on Dec 8

With the announcement of the election date, model code of conduct has come into effect


The election commission on Saturday announced the date of by-election for Kanker district’s Bhanupratappur assembly constituency, which was vacated by the death of Deputy Speaker of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly and MLA Manoj Mandavilast month, as December 5. Counting of votes will be held on December 8, the date on which results of Gujarat elections will be out. With the announcement of the date, the model code of conduct has come into effect.

Manoj Singh Mandavi, Congress MLA from Bhanupratappurand one of the influential leaders of tribal society, passed away on October 16 following a heart attack. 

Chief Electoral Officer Reena Babasaheb Kangale told in a press conference here in Raipur that notification for BhanupratappurVidhan Sabha by-election will be published on November 10followed by the last date for filing nomination papers will be November 17, scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on  November 18, candidates can withdraw their names till November 21. 

The Election Commission of India has released the schedule of by-elections for one parliamentary seat and five assembly seats in five states. Mainpuri parliamentary seat in Uttar Pradesh will go to the poll. Apart from this, by-elections are to be held for Padmapur in Odisha, Sardar Shahar in Rajasthan, Kurhani in Bihar, Bhanupratappur in Chhattisgarh and Rampur in Uttar Pradesh.  Notification for these elections will be issued on November 10. 

Chhattisgarh will go to assembly poll in November next year. In such a situation, it is believed that the election on the vacant seat of Bhanupratappur will be crucial for both ruling COngress and BJP to know the mood of the people of the tribal districts of Bastar. 

Meanwhile, District Panchayat CEO of Kanker will be the election officer of Bhanupratappur. On the other hand, Deputy Collector of Kanker and Tehsildar of Bhanupratappur have been named Assistant Election Officer.

The assembly constituency of Bhanupratappur was declared for the first time in 1962 at the time of erstwhile uited Madhya Pradesh. In the first election, independent Ramprasad Potaidefeated Patla Thakur of Congress. In the second election of 1967, J Hathoi of Praja Socialist Party won. In 1972, Satyanarayan Singh of Congress won. In 1979, Pyarelal SukhlalSingh of the Janata Party won. In the elections of 1980 and 1985, Ganga Potai of Congress won. In the 1990 elections, independent Jhuram Ram defeated Potai. In 1993, Devlal Duggaof BJP won from here. Manoj Mandavi of Congress won in 1998. He was a minister in the Ajit Jogi government. In 2003, Devlal Dugga of BJP won again. In 2008, Brahmanand Netamof BJP became MLA from here. Congress’s Manoj Mandavimade a comeback in 2013. He also won the 2018 election.

Chhattisgarh has had 13 by-elections in 22 years so far. So far, the maximum four by-elections were held in the 2008-13.

Divya Dubey

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button