28 Congress MLAs from Haryana shifted to Raipur with apprehension of cross voting 

Raipur:As many as 28 Congress MLAs out of total 31 from Haryana were on Thursday shifted to Raipur in fear of cross voting and horse-trading in the Rajya Sabhaelections to be held on June 10. The Congress party in Haryana had taken this decision following an instruction from the party high command. 

According to information, Congress MLAs from Haryana reached Swami Vivekananda Airport in Raipur on Thursday evening along with some office bearers of Haryana Congress. They were taken to Mayfair Lake Resort, Atal Nagar Nava Raipur by a bus amid tight security arrangements.

According to sources, these MLAs will stay in Raipur till June 9 and they would leave Raipur for Haryana on June 10 morning only for voting for Rajya Sabha.

It may be mentioned, senior Congress leader Ajay Maken has been nominated by the party for the Raya Sabha seat from Haryana.   

A total of three candidates have filed nominations for the two posts of Rajya Sabha elections in Haryana. After the filing of the nomination by media baron Kartikeya Sharma, who is an Independent candidate and former Union Minister VinodSharma’s son, the fight for the Rajya Sabha seat in Haryana has taken a new turn. The BJP fielded Krishan Lal Panwar while Congress has nominated Ajay Maken. The biennial elections is being held asBJP-supported Independent MP Subhash Chandra and BJP leader Dushyant Sharma’s terms expire in July 2022. 

Sharma is backed by JJP’s 10 MLAs and is also likely to get BJP’s support, as well as several independent MLAs. In the 90-seat Haryana assembly, the Congress candidate need 30 seats to win while the BJP nominee requires the support of 31 MLAs. Both the contestants have the required numbers, however, after the entry of independent candidate Kartikeya Sharma, the fight has become interesting. 

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button