Senior leader Brijmohan Agrawal resigns from Legislative Assembly

Chhattisgarh’s senior most MLA Brijmohan Agrawal has resigned from the Legislative Assembly. He has won the state assembly elections eight times. Brijmohan was fielded by the BJP as a candidate for the Lok Sabha elections, and he has won. According to the rules, he can only hold one position, which is why he has resigned.

Brijmohan Agrawal will go to Delhi to participate in the new session of Parliament starting on June 24. Before this, speaking to the media about his resignation, Brijmohan said that if the central leadership has made him contest the election for MP, they must have done so thoughtfully. He mentioned that it is within the Chief Minister’s powers to keep him as a minister for up to six months, indicating his desire to remain in the ministerial position.

Brijmohan Agrawal had been the MLA from Raipur South for nearly 40 years. He is a senior BJP leader and had also served as a minister in the Raman Singh government.
With Brijmohan Agrawal’s resignation, the Raipur South seat has become vacant. Elections will soon be announced for this seat. In his resignation letter, Brijmohan stated that he is leaving the position of MLA after being elected as an MP.
Former Minister Shiv Kumar Dahariya has offered Brijmohan Agrawal an invitation to join the Congress. Dahariya said that there is infighting within the BJP and that Brijmohan has been neglected within the party. He suggested that if Brijmohan wishes, he can join their party and would get whatever he desires.
The Raipur South seat is now vacant after Brijmohan’s resignation. There is speculation that by the end of the year, along with municipal elections, a by-election for the assembly could also be held. As a result, many leaders from both the BJP and Congress are strengthening their claims for candidacy.

Manish Tiwari

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button