Former CM Bhupesh Baghel to contest Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha seat against incumbent BJP MP Santosh Pandey as Congress releases names for six seats in Chhattisgarh

Former Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel has been nominated to contest against the incumbent BJP’s Santosh Pandey, who is the current MP, in the Rajnandgaon Lok Sabha seat. Additionally, the Congress party has retained Jyotsna Mahant, the incumbent MP from Korba. This comes as Congress released its first list of candidates for six out of a total of 11 seats in Chhattisgarh on Friday.
Congress issued its initial list for the Lok Sabha elections 2024, announcing candidates for 39 seats. Among these, candidates have been declared for 6 out of the 11 seats in Chhattisgarh.
The list comprises the names of Patan MP and former CM, two former ministers, a former MLA, and the Korba MP. Former MLA Vikas Upadhyay has been chosen as the candidate from Raipur.
In the meeting of the Central Election Committee of Congress held in Delhi on Thursday, candidates have been finalized for four seats in Chhattisgarh. It is speculated that former Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel will contest the election from Rajnandgaon. Meanwhile, former minister Dr. Shivkumar Dahariya will contest the Lok Sabha election from Jangjgir-Champa seat, Jyotsna Mahant from Korba, and Rajendra Sahu from Durg have been finalized.

It’s worth mentioning that the BJP has announced the names of 195 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2024. The announcement of names has been made for all 11 seats of Chhattisgarh in the first list itself. Two MPs have been repeated. Meanwhile, Minister Brijmohan Agrawal is contesting the Lok Sabha elections from Raipur. BJP has given tickets to 3 women out of the 11 seats.

Manish Tiwari

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button