Congress’ record fourth victory in by-election

Congress’ record fourth victory in by-election


Related Articles

Khairagarh:Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel played a master stroke by announcing Khairagarh will be district within 24 hours from the declaration of the results.

Congress candidate Yoshada Verma has recorded victory in the Khairagarh by-election by a huge margin of over 20000 votes. With this win, Congress will now have 71 members in the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly. It is worthwhile to mention, the ruling Congress in the state has already won by-elections of DantewadaChitrakot and Marwahi held in the recent months and the party has created record by winning Khairagarh

The victory of the party is being seen as people’s trust in government of Chhattisgarh and its credit is being to the works of Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel. In the last three-and-a-half years, the work done by the Bhupesh government for the public, the schemes that it has brought, the people have been greatly benefited. Whether we talk about loan waiver, buying paddy on support price, or benefits to landless labourers, all these schemes have won the trust of the people somewhere. The announcement of restoration of old pension scheme and announcement of district status for Khairagarh remained of the key.

Announcement to district proves to be a master stroke

According to political pundits, during the election campaign, the announcement of making Khairagarh a new district by Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel proved to be a master stroke. The Chief Minister had announced that the result would be declared on April 16 and Khairagarh-Chhuikhadan-Gandai would be a new district on April 17. Apart from this, he had announced to make Salhewara a tehsil.

From  Chitrakot to Khairagarh by-poll

The first by-election was held in Chitrakot during the tenure of Bhupesh Baghel in which Congress won and Rajman Benjam was elected as the MLA. From here the then MLA Deepak Baij had left his seat for the MP election. After which by-elections were held here.

The second by-election was held in Dantewada. Here also Congress candidate Devti Karma won. Here the then BJP MLA Bhima Mandavi died in the Naxalattack, creating the vacancy.

The third by-election was held for the Marwahiassembly seat. After the death of JCC-J MLA Ajit Jogithis seat went to by-poll in which Congress candidate K K Dhruv registered a landslide victory.

Now in Khairagarh by-election, Congress candidate Yashoda Verma won by  a margin of over 20000 votes, leaving BJP candidate Komal Janghel and JCC-J candidate Narendra Soni far behind.

Congress passed in semi-finals

As the results of Khairagarh by-polls are out, now it can be said that Congress has won the semi final match quite convincingly. Since the assembly elections are to be held in Chhattisgarh in 2023, the victory of the Congress in Khairagarh will give encourage the party workers.

\From mandate of 67 to 71

In the 2018 assembly elections, the Congress had registered a record victory by clinching 67 seats whereas BJP had to be satisfied with 15 seats. Apart from this, 7 seats came in the court of JCCJ and BSP alliance. Now at present the number of Congress MLAs has gone up to 71.

Dispatch News

Show More

Related Articles

प्रातिक्रिया दे

Back to top button